The Education System in Hong Kong in 2007
(3,299 words)

In The China Educational Development Yearbook, Volume 1 | ISBN: 9789004171787

I. Overview

The education system in Hong Kong is composed of four levels: preschool, nine-year compulsory education comprised of six years of primary school and three years of middle school, high school comprised of two years of high school curriculum and two years of college preparatory curriculum, and college or university. Refer to Figure 27.1 for more information.

 1. Curriculum designed by the Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education and other training organizations.
 2. The government-developed Yi Jin project provides students who did not finish high school with the opportunity to further their educations. Students who complete Yi Jin curriculum will receive a diploma conferred by the appropriate department. The diploma is equal to passing the middle school general exam and provides the successful candidate with the Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications diploma.
 Source: 2006. “Overview of Educational Statistics.” Education Commission of Hong Kong, December 12.

Figure 27.1: Overview…

Cite this page
Zhao, Zhenzhou, “The Education System in Hong Kong in 2007”, in: Chinese Research Perspectives Online, Edited by: International Advisory Board Chinese Research Perspectives Online. Consulted online on 18 December 2018 <>

▲   Back to top   ▲