3–5.1.1 Septuagint
(503 words)

Part of 3–5 Former Prophets - 3–5.1 Primary Translations

The Former Prophets (the historical books Joshua to 2 Kings) and the Latter Prophets (Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and the twelve Minor Prophets) together form the second subdivision of the Hebrew Canon (, after the Torah and before the Writings (Ketuvim). The contents and names of the second and third divisions are somewhat problematic: not all the books included in the “Prophets” pertain to prophets and the relation between the two divisions is loose. More specifically,…

Cite this page
Emanuel Tov, “3–5.1.1 Septuagint”, in: Textual History of the Bible, General Editor Armin Lange. Consulted online on 16 January 2019 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/2452-4107_thb_COM_0305010100>
First published online: 2016
First print edition: 20161101

▲   Back to top   ▲